Jill Weatherholt

Writing Stories of Love, Faith and Happy Endings While Enjoying the Journey

The Man in the Arena

Image courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Image courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

It is not the critic who counts;
not the man who points out how
the strong man stumbles,
or where the doer of deeds could have
done them better.
The credit belongs to the man
who is actually in the arena,
whose face is marred by dust
and sweat and blood;
who strives valiantly; who errs,
who comes short again and again,
because there is no effort
without error and shortcoming;
but who does actually strive to do the deeds;
who knows great enthusiasms,
the great devotions;
who spends himself in a worthy cause;
who at the best knows in the end the triumph
of high achievement,
and who at the worst,
if he fails, at least fails while daring greatly,
so that his place shall never be
with those cold and timid souls
who neither know victory nor defeat.

President Theodore Roosevelt
Speech at the Sorbonne
April 23, 1910

HAPPY FATHER’S DAY DAD! THANK YOU FOR TEACHING ME TO NEVER GIVE UP.

I LOVE YOU,

JILL

My thoughts and prayers are with friends Theresa and Luanne this Father’s Day.

Author: Jill Weatherholt

My name is Jill Weatherholt and I’m a writer. I have a full-time job, but at night and on the weekend, I pursue my passion, writing. I write modern stories about love, friendship and forgiveness. I started this blog as a way to share my journey toward publication and to create a community for other new writers. Raised in the Washington, DC area, I’ve lived in Charlotte, North Carolina since 2004. I hold a degree in Psychology from George Mason University and a Certification in Paralegal Studies from Duke University. My first book, SECOND CHANCE ROMANCE, will release in March, 2017. It's now able for pre-order on Amazon. I was the first place winner in the Dream Quest One Short Story Contest in the Winter 2014-2015 competition. In 2014, I placed second in Southern Writers Magazine Short Story Contest. I was also a top ten finalist in Southern Writers Magazine Short Story Contest in 2012 and 2013. I’m a 2010 and 2012 winner of the NaNoWriMo Contest. I love to connect readers, visit me at jillweatherholt.com

Comments are closed.