Jill Weatherholt

Writing Stories of Love, Faith and Happy Endings While Enjoying the Journey

98 Comments

002(2)The Love of a Mother
by Anonymous

A Mother’s love is something
that no on can explain,
It is made of deep devotion
and of sacrifice and pain

It is endless and unselfish
and enduring come what may
For nothing can destroy it
or take that love away

It is patient and forgiving
when all others are forsaking,
And it never fails or falters
even though the heart is breaking

It believes beyond believing
when the world around condemns,
And it glows with all the beauty
of the rarest, brightest gems011(1)

It is far beyond defining,
it defies all explanation,
And it still remains a secret
like the mysteries of creation

A many splendor miracle
man cannot understand
And another wondrous evidence
of God’s tender guiding hand.001(3)

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY TO THE MOST LOVING AND UNSELFISH PERSON I KNOW. I LOVE YOU, MOM!

HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY WEEKEND TO EVERYONE!

Author: Jill Weatherholt

My name is Jill Weatherholt and I’m a writer. I have a full-time job, but at night and on the weekend, I pursue my passion, writing. I write modern stories about love, friendship and forgiveness. I started this blog as a way to share my journey toward publication and to create a community for other new writers. Raised in the Washington, DC area, I’ve lived in Charlotte, North Carolina since 2004. I hold a degree in Psychology from George Mason University and a Certification in Paralegal Studies from Duke University. My first book, SECOND CHANCE ROMANCE, will release in March, 2017. It's now able for pre-order on Amazon. I was the first place winner in the Dream Quest One Short Story Contest in the Winter 2014-2015 competition. In 2014, I placed second in Southern Writers Magazine Short Story Contest. I was also a top ten finalist in Southern Writers Magazine Short Story Contest in 2012 and 2013. I’m a 2010 and 2012 winner of the NaNoWriMo Contest. I love to connect readers, visit me at jillweatherholt.com

98 thoughts on “

  1. How lovely to see such a bond between you two! Have a great weekend Jill xo

    Like

  2. Your mom is lovely! Great poem; it’s so true. But being a mom, those traits of pure love and always being there – it’s something that seems to come as soon as that precious baby is born. She/he is part of us forever from then on. My mom is 91 and as her personality fades a bit, I love her just as much. But now, she (unknowingly) calls me her mother – and she’s the daughter. Both ways, we love each other unconditionally.

    Like

  3. Beautiful poem and lovely picture of your mom. Happy Mother’s Day to you!

    Like

  4. Beautiful sentiment expressed in this poem. Happy Mother’s Day!

    Like

  5. Lovely poem, Jill! Have a wonderful weekend πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. Sweet picture of your Mom , Jill! She has a great smile… πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend!

    Like

    • I love this picture, Pix! She looks so sassy. πŸ™‚ Before I took the picture, she was standing with her arms straight and not smiling much. I asked her to smile and she placed her hands on her hips and struck the pose. πŸ™‚ I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day as well! xo

      Like

  7. This is a lovely poem, Jill. I hope you have a lovely weekend πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Beautiful poem and photo of your mom. A mother’s unconditional love is the best! Enjoy your weekend, Jill.

    Like

  9. A lovely poem and photo, Jill. Wishing you and your precious mom a very happy Mothers’ Day. xx

    Like

  10. Anonymous got it right, Jill! I’m off to Florida to spend the day with my own mom (yeah!!) – hope you get to do the same (not necessarily in Florida, of course!)!

    Like

  11. Wonderful poem, Jill!!! So true of my mom and many other moms.
    Obviously your mom is awesome, Jill. She had you, didn’t she? Happy Mother’s Day weekend. I won’t see my mom though 😦 Wish I could.
    oo

    Like

    • Yes, it’s perfect. I’ve always loved this poem. My mother is the queen of awesome, L. Marie. I’m sorry you won’t be able to see your mother…soon though. Have fun at the play! xo

      Like

  12. Beautiful. I will read this aloud to my mom on Sunday. πŸ™‚

    Like

  13. A wonderful tribute to your special Mom!

    Like

  14. Have a happy Mother’s Day weekend, Jill. Your Mum looks very glamorous – spoil her – I bet she deserves it! Lovely poem, by the way….

    Like

    • Oh yes, Jenny, she certainly deserves it. I’ll have to show her your comment…she’ll love it. She has a great fashion sense and always looks great. I hope you had a nice Mothering Day back in March. Enjoy the weekend!

      Like

  15. Look at your beautiful Mama!! Good looks run in your familia, Jill!! I love this poem, I will have to share it. I will be missing my Mama for sure! I just want a yummy breakfast on Sunday with Mr B and my daughter who will be home! Xo enjoy your mom!πŸ’

    Like

  16. Beautiful poem, but that’s not surprising coming from your writerly mind! I hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day weekend Jill!

    Like

  17. Beautiful, Jill. Have a great Mother’s Day weekend! πŸ™‚

    Like

  18. Very nice, Jill. What a wonderful tribute to your mom. πŸ™‚ Have a wonderful weekend!

    Like

  19. Lovely poem and tribute to your mom, Jill. Happy Mother’s Day to you too!

    Like

  20. What a lovely and loving tribute, Jill. You mother’s kind heart and goodness shines through you!

    Like

  21. Great post Jill. You are very lucky

    Like

  22. Jill it is endless and your poem was such a beautiful tribute to your Mum and all the Mums who read this. Have a lovely weekend. I had my lunch a week early as my hubs has to work this Sunday. Had a lovely day.

    Like

    • Thank you, Kath, but I can’t take credit for the poem. It says everything I’d like to say, if I could write poetry. Perhaps “Anonymous” will come forward so we can thank him or her. πŸ™‚ I’m happy to hear you had a nice lunch earlier in the week. Happy Mother’s Day to you, my friend. xo

      Like

  23. Very nice, Jill! What a wonderful mom you write about! Quite a tribute. Happy Mother’s Day to you this weekend. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Thank you, Mark. My mother is wonderful, but I can’t take the credit for the poem. As I mentioned to Kath, if I could write poetry, these are the words I would pen. Happy Mother’s Day to your wife!

      Like

  24. Simply the best Jill – a wonderful tribute to the woman that is so special in your life. Happy Mothers Day!

    Like

  25. Glad you got a good one, Jill! Love that shot of her!

    Like

  26. A lovely tribute to your mum Jill πŸ™‚

    Like

  27. I’m sure your mother is as proud of you as you are delighted with her. That was a wonderful poem to her. Happy Mother’s Day to you both.

    Like

  28. It’s nice to see a photo of your mom. She’s a beautiful woman. Happy Mothers’ Day, Jill.

    Like

  29. A very loving tribute.

    Like

  30. What a wonderful tribute to your mom, and the photo? She looks all of 45 at the most!

    Like

  31. Your mom is beautiful and so are your flowers. Hope you had a fun Mother’s Day!

    Like

  32. What a beautiful mom! I hope her day was truly wonderful!

    Like

  33. Beautiful mother, beautiful daughter and a beautiful poem. I hope you had a wonderful weekend celebrating Mother’s Day with your mother, dear Jill xoxo

    Like

    • Thank you, Sherri. We had a wonderful weekend. I’m anxious to hear about your weekend with you mum. I’m sorry I’ve been slow with my email reply. Talk to you soon! xo

      Liked by 1 person

      • Glad you had such a wonderful weekend Jill! I will do my best to get to a blog post about Jersey this week but I’m pushing it, so might not be until Monday. I’ve got Nicky home this weekend so a fast turn around! We had an amazing time though, being there for Liberation Day. I learnt so much about their history and what it was like to be under Nazi occupation for 5 years during WWII. My head is swirling with it all, it was a very humbling and incredible experience. No worries on the email, I understand, but we will talk soon! Have a great rest of the week my friend πŸ™‚ xoxo

        Like

      • I’m so happy to hear Nicky is home for the weekend. I know that makes you happy. What a moving trip you had. I can’t wait to hear about it. Enjoy Nicky! xo

        Like

  34. Sweet poem, Jill, and I love the photo of your mom. Now we know where you got your good looks!

    Like

  35. Such a wonderful tribute! Your mother raised you well! ❀

    Like

  36. I apologize very profusely. Last one to add my two cents. I thought I had looked at your blog on Friday but must have missed this beautiful and special post, Jill.
    I love looking at the pose with your pretty Mom, hands on hips and brightly dressed. She looks like a wonderful person, your truest friend and fan, your everything from birth until now, like I feel about my Mom. So thoroughly blessed and thankful. She looks very healthy and young, Jill. This is a good thing passed on to you.
    The Mother’s Day poem was really nicely written. Too bad it is anonymous. Someone really loved their mother.
    This was a special tribute and wish I had seen it earlier. Take care and enjoy the rest of your week and your weekend, Jill.

    Like

    • Robin please, there is no need to apologize. You’ve had a difficult week and business to address, so no worries.
      I love this photo of my mother. When I told her I wanted to take her picture, she stood with her arms at her side and not smiling too much. I said, “smile” and she struck that pose. I thought it was so cute.
      I know we have a lot in common when it comes to our relationship with our mothers, so your comment means so much.
      Take care and keep me posted on the “big event.” πŸ™‚ xo

      Like

  37. What a wonderful tribute to your mom, Jill!

    Like

  38. What a great tribute… you are blessed to have such a good relationship.

    Like

  39. Aw what a beautiful poem and what a terrific mom you have! πŸ™‚ Great way to celebrate her and Mother’s Day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

